LMC Announces New Trustees

The Leadership Medina County Board of Trustees welcomes Steve VanDette, Karen Gaub, and Brooke Bell to the Board of Trustees starting July 1, 2018.  The Board also thanks retiring board members Joe McNeill (Westfield Bank), Tracy Crandall (RPM International Inc.), Johanna Perrino (WCTV), Joe Race (The Allen Thomas Group), and John Hojnacki (JrLMC Representative).


A vice president at Huntington National Bank, Steve VanDette serves the Medina and Summit county markets in Commercial and Industrial lending. In 2016, VanDette graduated with the Silver Jubilee Class of Leadership Medina County and has continued to look for ways to stay active in the organization.

“It was a very inspiring year,” he said. “It was my launching point to connections with my community.”

VanDette has not shied away from community involvement. He currently serves on several other boards in the county, including the Medina Chamber of Commerce, Medina Creative Housing, and the Medina County Economic Development Corporation. But it is his passion for inspiring others to experience the same amazing year he had with Leadership Medina County that drove him to pursue a seat on their board.

“The connectivity that is built into the program is tremendous,” VanDette said. “I look forward to inspiring others the same way I was.”


Also joining him in his first three-year term is Karen Gaub. Gaub is a project supervisor with Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. She has had the opportunity to participate in both the Signature Class (’17) and before that, the Emerging Leaders Class (’14).

“Both classes have helped me grow both personally and professionally. The inspiring leaders serving on the board, and dedicated LMC employees, care deeply about Medina County and are passionate about strengthening people to serve and ensure its continued success,” Gaub commented.

She looks forward to sharing her insight from both classes and interacting with LMC on a board level.

“I am honored to be part of it.  I truly value the knowledge I have gained from these experiences, and the incredible people I have met through the LMC family.”

Last, but certainly not least, is Brooke Bell. Bell participated in the Junior Leadership program and is a 2017 graduate of Cloverleaf High School.

“I applied for the Junior Leadership program because I needed to start figuring things out in my life and working on my networking skills,” she said.

When asked what left the biggest impression on her, she identified the Poverty Simulation.


“I knew there were people living in poverty in Medina County,” she admitted. “But I really didn’t know how widespread it was. This helped me understand the situation.”

During her senior year in high school, Brooke remained active with LMC, serving as an intern for the Junior Leadership program. She is currently taking classes at the University of Akron, pursuing a degree in Exercise Science with an emphasis on Physiology. That degree can lead to jobs associated with companies that have corporate wellness programs, medical sales, or even personal trainer positions.

“I think I bring a different perspective to the board,” she said.

The LMC Board is excited to welcome both Steve, Brooke, and Karen and looks forward to the unique contributions and perspectives each will bring.

Leadership Medina County 2018-2019 Officers are President Claus Meyer, Raymond James and Associates; Steven Chrisman, Vice-President, Medina County Career Center; Kimberly Bolas Miller, Secretary, Westfield Bank; Dean Harris, Treasurer, Ohio Transit Risk Pool; and Susan Ungham, Past President, Retired.

Returning trustees include Sharon Danko, Retired; Rick Dumperth, Wolff Bros. Supply, Inc.; Dustin Fowkes, DS Benefits, LLC; Terri Grimm, Westfield Insurance; Joel Hlavaty, Frantz Ward LLP; Keith Hughes, Meaden & Moore, Ltd.; Connie King, Baldwin Wallace University; Janie Parish, Wadsworth Area Chamber of Commerce; Lee Pickler, Baldwin Wallace University; Valerie Rapp, Homestead Insurance Agency; and Eileen Thorsell, Buckin’ Ohio.

Leave a Comment