December  2021 Class Notes

’93  The Best

Colene S. Conley ’93 was recently elected as a York Township Trustee. Congratulations, Colene!


’01  The Synergetic

Gregory Oakes ’01 was recently elected to the Westfield Center Village Council.  Congratulations, Gregory!

Julianne Bedel ’01 has been elected to the CLEVNET Executive Panel (1/2022 – 12/2024).  CLEVNET is a consortium of 47 library systems across 12 Northeast Ohio counties with 12 million items and approximately 1 million patrons.  Executive Panel is the governing body of CLEVNET member libraries.  MCDL has been a member of the consortium since 1985.


’02  The Enlightened

Richard Pace ’02 was elected as Granger Township Trustee. Congratulations, Richard!


’04  The Exceptional

Conrad Sarnowski ’04 is an appointee for the 2021 Transportation Improvement Board

Ralph Copley ’04 is the newly elected Member of Council for Ward 1 in Wadsworth.  Congratulations, Ralph!


’05  The Ultimate

Michael Schmidt ’05 was recently elected as a Westfield Township Trustee.  Congratulations, Michael!


’06  The Enterprising

Johanna Perrino ’06 has been awarded the OHIO REALTORS’ 2021 President’s Sales Club Award of Achievement, achieved by only the top 10 percent of all OHIO real estate agents.


’07  The Inspired

Roger Wright ‘07– Congratulations for the WCTV Runner Up for Best School Event: National Technical Honor Society Induction Ceremony. Roger also received an Honorable Mention for Glory on the Grandview – This History of Art Wright Stadium under the category of Best Sports and Recreation and Bruce on the Loose #421.

Joseph Delsanter ’07 has been elected to the Brunswick City Council.  Congratulations!


’08  That Class

Thomas Sigel ’08 has been elected as a Homer Township Trustee.  Congratulations!


’09  A Class Act

Janie Parish ‘09 Congratulations for the WCTV Clapper Award for the Host with the Most. Janie also received an Honorable Mention for Best Special Event: Holiday Flavors of the Chamber.

Ty Fullerton ’09 has been elected as a Lafayette Township Trustee.  Congratulations!


’10 The Social Class

Andrew DeLuna ’10 has been elected to the Lodi Village Council.  Congratulations!

Bethany Dentler ‘10 is an appointee for 2021 Transportation Improvement Board

Mike Kovack ’10 – Congratulations for the WCTV Clapper Award for Best Entertainment with Gene Kovack for Polka Time Again #1388 and 1400th Program Milestone Award. He and Gene Kovack also received an Honorable Mention for Polka Time Again Live from the Slovene Hall #1. Mike also received a Clapper Award for Best Public Awareness for his video “Take Me Home – Shelter and Rescue Animals.”


’11 The Emerald Class

Kathy Breitenbucher ’11 of MCEDC has been appointed by the Medina County Commissioners to the board of the Medina County Convention & Visitors Bureau.  Kathy was also appointed to the Wayne Medina Community Action Board.


’13 The Visionary Class

Kimberly Bolas Miller ’13 has been elected as a Sharon Township Trustee. Congratulations!


’14 The Class On Fire

Krista Waswoski ’14  Congratulations for the Medina County Health Department’s WCTV Platinum Disc Award for COVID-19  Vaccine Sign up Demo produced with the Soprema Senior Center.  Also, Krista was honored this month by the Ohio Educational Services Center Association with their Outstanding Leadership Award for Community Service.

Joe Canestrato ’14 has been elected as a Sharon Township Trustee.  Congratulations!


‘16 Silver Jubilee

Zig Novack ’16  Congratulations for the WCTV Runner Up for Best Sports Coverage for WHS Freshman Volleyball vs. Brunswick 8-28-21.


’17 The Collaborators 

Jess Heid ’17, President of Ameri-Cal, announced they have purchased an additional location (two doors down) to expand.  They are adding a new slitter rewinder and offering warehouse services.


‘19 The Difference Makers

Jamie Marks ’19 was appointed to the Medina Hospital Board of Trustees.

Jessica Hazeltine ’19 was recently elected to the Medina City Council Ward 1.  Congratulations!

Jill Teubl ’19 was recently reappointed by the Medina County Commissioners to serve another term on the Medina County Convention and Visitors Bureau Board.


Emerging Leaders ‘20

Last summer (2020) a group of LMC Alumni completed a training on “Diagnosing a  Challenge” led by Terri Greene, LEAD Institute.  As a result of their training, they chose to diagnose the foster care challenge in Medina County of creating awareness about the need for more foster parents and families in our area.  The alumni project is still progressing, and they have created the video/mini documentary of following one of our alumni, Jason Sanders (both an Emerging Leaders ’20 and Signature ’21 graduate) and his wife, Amy, through the process of becoming foster care parents.  Jason also chaired this group of alumni in this project.

Alumni also participating in this ongoing project are:

Susan Vlcek ’01

Debbie Kiley ’07

Sharon Holmes  ’09

Terri Greene ’12

Rick Dumperth ’13

Amy Lyon-Galvin ’15

Kimberly Oliver ‘19

John Liebler ‘21

Bryan Lefelhoc ‘22


’20 In Focus

Melanie Maulding ’20 is now Vice President for CBIZ Employee Benefits.

Daniel Slife ‘20 – Congratulations for Wadsworth Public Library’s WCTV Platinum Disc Award and 200th Program Milestone Award for Story Time. Storytime Cookies was also a Runner Up for Best Youth Production.


LEAD Institute ‘22

Jenny Young ‘22 – Congratulations for the WCTV Clapper Award for best Instructional Video titled Dear Bin Hogs in collaboration with Recycle Medina County. Jenny was also Runner Up for Best Promotional for the Video Think Spring in collaboration with the Supreme Senior Center and for Recycle Right under the category of Best Public Awareness.

Philip Rickaby ‘22 has joined Henry Schein Orthodontics as an Orthodontic Sales Specialist.  He will be overseeing the Greater Ohio territory.


Signature Class of ‘22

Chad Kitzmiller ’22 was awarded the 2021 PGA Professional Development Award by the Northern Ohio PGA and was also recently elected to the Secretary Officer position for the Northern Ohio PGA.

Nate Eppink ‘22 Congratulations for the Medina County Park District WCTV Runner Up for Best Informational titled We Love Birding!

Junior Leadership Graduate Commended in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program

Of the about 1.6 million juniors who take the PSAT/NMSQT each year, approximately 50,000 juniors with the highest PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index scores (or total PSAT scores) who meet the eligibility requirements described above qualify for NMSP recognition. That is, roughly the top 3% of 11th grade testers will qualify.  During the September following the PSAT/NMSQT administration, approximately 2/3 of those 50,000 students will receive Letters of Commendation recognizing their academic abilities and potential. One of these commended students is our very own Junior Leadership Graduate, Donald Jason Darrell II ’21.   He is the son of Donald Darrell and Emerging Leaders graduate, Gretchen Darrell.  Way to go, Jason!

Leave a Comment